In The Chair 

13 Apr

This, this, this!

Autoimmunitygirl

Sometimes you will see a movie or a television program where someone in a wheelchair is helped, given courtesy or recognized for the courage it takes to live life needing the aid of a wheelchair. However I can honestly say that, based on my own experiences, this is extremely rare and has never actually happened to me. Ever.

My personal experience of being in a wheelchair is that, at best I become mostly invisible and at worst, people have been completely rude.

Unlike mothers with prams, people will not attempt to give way or courtesy as I wheel around in public spaces. I have rarely experienced someone holding a door for us or handing me a hard to reach item.

Oh, and don’t get me started on car parking for wheelchair users. I have rarely gone anywhere where there is an available parking bay. Rarely.

I have been bumped, pushed…

View original post 287 more words

Please Leave a Comment :-)

