My First Blog Post – Help!

6 Jun

When I first registered with WordPress and saw my Account, I panicked.  It all looked so technical and, looking around the site, reading different parts of it, it all sounded like a foreign language.  What had I imagined?  Probably something based on MS Word or maybe MS Publisher, with templates.  Here I was faced with terminology I had never heard of before.  What to do?  I was lucky.  I know someone who blogs and who has blogged for years using WordPress, so I asked him for help.  In fact it was him who prompted me to get off my backside and get on with it.  This is his blog which has lots of tips about writing a blog https://ronsrants.wordpress.com.  I found it very interesting.

My friend, Ron, told me that it would only take about 20 minutes to set things up before I could start writing.  He helped me find my way around WordPress, to get it set up, and find my feet.  He then said to start writing and to write a lot, as the more I wrote the easier it would get.  But, what to write about?  My head had been full of things for weeks, if not months.  Ron then suggested some homework for me.  To write about how difficult it is to write a first blog.  Not only that, but he gave me a time limit of 24 hours.  Did I panic?  Of course I did!

I was quite excited about it all, actually.  It was something new.  Something to get my teeth into, and due to illnesses I hadn’t had that for a long time.  I’ve always loved reading, from as soon as I had learned to, but I have no aspirations to be a writer.  I’m also quite a private sort of person, so I wanted my blog to be kept private. But, hey, I’ll give it a shot.

Still, I put off actually sitting down to start writing for hours.  Then, when I did sit down, my fingers just hovered over the keyboard.  I knew what I wanted to say, but I couldn’t figure out how to put the words down on paper.  My mind kept flitting about.  I felt that once I got started I would be okay, but how do you start?  What words do I use first?  It was a bit like having a stammer I suppose.  Wanting to get the words out, but not being able to.

I decided to be strict with myself.  I told myself to sit down and get on with it, and stop prevaricating.  And then the phone rang!  Typical, I was just getting into the mood and I got interrupted.   However, after the phone call it came to me.  What was the first thing I did when I decided to start a blog?  I registered with WordPress.  So that was where I started, as you have already read, and I went on from there.

Ron thinks I should “go public” with my blog.  Will I?  Well I think I’ll have to write a few more posts before I make up my mind, but if you’re reading this you’ll know that I have!

One Response to “My First Blog Post – Help!”

  1. Crystal 10,June 2011 at 21:07 #

    Brilliant First Post Flower 🙂

    You have now given me the shove I need to start Writing and Sharing too like yourself
    I look forward to your future Posts and would also like to Thank you Greatly for all the Support,Laughter and Friendship you have brought into my Life 🙂
    Lotsa Love C x

Please Leave a Comment :-)

